Change the world

Sociology and Anthropology


Academic Staff
Mr David Bogopa
David Bogopa
Position: Lecturer (Head of Department)
Department: Sociology & Anthropology (incorporating History)
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5042185
Fax: 27 41 5044276
Email: david.bogopa@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Gender, Health, Housing, IKS, Poverty and Sport

Liz Wepener
Liz Wepener
Position: Department Secretary
Department: Sociology & Anthropology (incorporating History)
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5042146
Fax: 27 41 5044276
Email: Liz.wepener@mandela.ac.za

Nomalanga Mkhize
Nomalanga Mkhize
Position: Associate Professor (Post-Graduate Co-Ordinator)
Department: Sociology & Anthropology (incorporating History)
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5044083
Fax: 27 41 5044276
Email: nomalanga.mkhize@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Land and Agrarian questions, 19th Century South African History, Gender and Language, Youth Subcultures

Babalwa Magoqwana
Babalwa Magoqwana
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Sociology & Anthropology (incorporating History)
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5042348
Fax: 27 41 5044276
Email: babalwa.magoqwana@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Sociology of Work, African Feminism, Labour Market Studies & Methodology

roherbst
Robert Herbst
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Sociology & Anthropology (incorporating History)
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5044514
Fax: 27 41 5044276
Email: robertotto.herbst@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Rhemish Missionary Society

Francina Herbst
Francina Herbst
Position: Lecturer
Department: Sociology & Anthropology (incorporating History)
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5044575
Fax: 27 41 5044276
Email: francina.herbst@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Gender and Missionaries in 19th Centuries in South Africa

bkritzinger
Barbara Kritzinger
Position: Lecturer (Undergraduate Co-ordinator)
Department: Sociology & Anthropology (incorporating History)
Room: Main Building 0616
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5044762
Fax: 27 41 5044276
Email: Barbara.Kritzinger@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Migration and Cultural Ecology

Qawekazi Maqabuka
Qawekazi Maqabuka
Position: Lecturer
Department: Sociology & Anthropology (incorporating History)
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5042232
Fax: 27 41 5044276
Email: qawekazi.maqabuka@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Sociology of Health and Gender Issues